Question - If "artist" is selected why does option for buying credits appear?

This confused me when I saw it, first because I didn’t know what credits were and, second, because it says that membership is free for artists and labels. If this is an optional offering maybe it should be described that way?

I also think there’s a mental defense that goes up if you’re a first-time artist seeing this—“Whoah, I have to pay to post my music?”

Actually, I’m finding many of these fields a bit confusing. If I’ve just clicked the email confirmation link, then the intent is obviously to get membership, correct? So it seems that checkbox is redundant.

I also don’t know what “supporter shares” are—I’d suggest either a quick blurb or another popup dialog. Should probably aim to keep this initial page as streamlined as possible for total newbies who might be easily scared away.

Just my 2 cents.

1 Like

I’m gonna add one more thing—and sorry if this has already been covered.

When I get past the initial account creation page/form, I get a page with:

“Join Resonate as an Artist - free if you upload a qualifying track (see terms and conditions). Have your say in Resonate as a ‘Music Maker’!”

As someone who has never been here before my perception is that you’re going to “vet” my track to see if it “qualifies”. I’m sure this wasn’t the intention but it makes me feel like, in order to post my music on Resonate, I have to meet some standard set by someone. I’ve done a fair bit of web content UX/UI and I remember that “Terms and conditions” is Scary Language.

Lastly, despite having chosen “artist” on the first page, and elected not to buy any credits (it’s free, right?), I’m then taken to a checkout page. I guess I’m just not following this. IMO this needs to be streamlined—presumably because we WANT lots of new artists to join.

1 Like

Just a quick response to speak to what I know about here.

Membership is free as an artist. Listening isn’t.