Potential Verifiable Credentials Use Cases

Drafted by @Nick_M on behalf of Resonate eSSIF-lab team.

We have explored several use cases:

1. Artist Circle

As an artist I want to offer privileged access to a circle of my proven supporters.

Presentation of a credential admits access to a private group and category on Resonate community forum where an artist can maintain a ‘landing page’ and share special content or discuss their work with proven supporters.

Resonate player service issues a VC credential on ‘buy now’ or reaching 9 plays level (you own this track)

Listener stores credential in their wallet and presents it to the verifier service to gain access to the Artist Circle. (For a limited period?)

Artist circle contains links to protected services such as videos or livestreams, or trial tracks. Artist may engage in discussion.

2. Event Access

As an artist I want to be able to offer simple, verifiable ticket access to my event.

An artist or their representative may set up a community forum ‘ticket’ page (Perhaps in their Artists Circle).

Resonate balance ledger and billing service (to be developed) takes payment and issues a ticket credential to a user wallet.

User presents credential to gain access to the ticket page, which is then shown to staff at door of gig, or printed.

Integration with the venue ticketing system is also a possibility - verifier API.

3. Recurring Micropayment Support for Artists or Commissioned work

As a listener I would like to offer regular support to an artist or group of artists and or a specific proposed new work by making regular payments. (More affordable, community-based version of Patreon)

Resonate balance ledger and billing service issues a credential to the listener-contributor on making a payment and artist / proposed musical work allocation.