Paying for time spent listening rather than a tiered system?

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I’m new to resonate and from what I can tell, there’s a lot of work happening behind the scenes or being worked towards. Some of the things I’m thinking about may already be in the works or been discussed (and dismissed) in the past, but after looking through some of the posts here, I’m seeing things similar to what I’ve been thinking I’d want in an ethical streaming service but not exactly the same.

This may end up being a rant, so apologies in advance if I’m preaching to the choir. Also I know people say euro’s a lot rather than $, but I don’t know how to make that symbol on my keyboard. There’s also a discussion about currencies here, like if I was paying in Thai Baht, Indonesian Rupiah, or Vietnamise Dong for instance, I’d feel like this idea was far too expensive and I haven’t given it any more thought for now. Suggestions would be great though.

I was wondering why there’s a price scale that values music listened to more frequently over music listened to once. That doesn’t sound very ethical to me. To me, what sounds ethical would be based on how much time was spent listening to music, and then whatever song was being played gets the money from the stream, be it 10 seconds of a song skipped through or a 10 minute song listened to 3 times for 30 minutes of streaming. I figure that the people who would be drawn to Resonate would be people who are doing it because they want to support artists. I think they would expect to pay more than the current ‘going rate’ of a streaming service like Spotify because there’s an understanding that the artists are not getting paid fairly and our entire industry is underpaying musicians in the streaming era. There’s also no reason why a song discovered and enjoyed once is worth any less than one listened to 5 times. Mood and music you know?