[listener] allow user to make history public / private

Proposal voted on assembly Oct 23.

By default, a user’s history will be private. But should a user wish to share:

As an authed user, I can toggle on/off whether I want the list of tracks on my history page (henceforth “history”) to be public to other authed users. I can set what date range to share, including “all time”.

As an authed user, I can navigate to another user’s profile and see the public history for the date range they shared. I can listen to the tracks using the same UI as available on the /tracks page (click on one track and the system plays the track, then the next track, then the next track)

As an authed third-party developer, I can use the API to see the public history of users who have opted to share all or a subsection of their history to build playlisting / musical exploration tools

The UI (fine print) should also remind user that they can share specific sets of tracks by creating a playlist.

Previous Notes / Versions
  • As an authed user, I can toggle on/off whether I want the list of tracks on my history page (henceforth “history”) to be public to other authed users. I can set what date range to share, including “all time”.
  • As an authed user, I can navigate to another user’s profile and see the public history for the date range they shared. I can listen to the tracks using the same UI as available on the /tracks page (click on one track and the system plays the track, then the next track, then the next track)
  • As an authed third-party developer, I can use the API to see the public history of users who have opted to share all or a subsection of their history to build playlisting / musical exploration tools

updates per :earth_americas: Community Assembly 2 | October 16th

If a user decide to share their history, the user can an interval (number and unit) from which to share through now. For example, one of:

• tracks with plays from 5 days ago through now